Goals People vs Resolutions People

I’m a goals person. Which are you?

Li
3 min readOct 9, 2021
Photo by Ronnie Overgoor on Unsplash

As we step into the new academic year, the usual mess of people all making resolutions, and the planning for the ideal of ‘new year, new me’ begins (yes, I know that this is primarily a January thing, but I feel it’s appropriate at this time of the year too).

CHANGE THEIR LIVES

Everyone seems to think that they can change their lives just by making the decision to make these resolutions, when in reality, very few people actually stick to them.

You see, the thing is that we don’t stick to them, because, while it is nice to set resolutions and to feel like we are in control and taking charge of things, when it comes down to it, we don’t actually put in the hard work.

JUST AS GUILTY

I’m just as guilty as the next person, I start the year out with all these good intentions, but I can’t quite seem to follow them through. That’s why, this year, I have made the decision to set myself goals, instead of trying to make resolutions, which will never really stick. I can’t see any point in just paying lip service to the new year, and saying “Oh, I’m going to do this” or “I’m going to do that”, when I know, almost before I’ve started, that I have little, to no chance of actually making it.

--

--

Li

Level 38|Wales|Writer|Artist|Crafter|Chronic Health Warrior|Fibromyalgia|DID|CPTSD|&