Finish The Argument

Weekend writing prompt

Li
2 min readNov 13, 2021
Photo by Afif Kusuma on Unsplash

Jessica looked up from her position on the sofa in front of the TV,

“Where are you going, all dressed up like that?” she asked, pulling a blanket over her. He glanced at her,

“I said I’d go out with the boys tonight.” He looked at his phone.

“Seriously?!” she said, her voice rising.

“It’s been planned for ages.”

“But I’m ill, Harry! Surely you could put it off for another night?” she pushed the blanket back, and stood up. He looked up,

“I’m sorry babe, but I promised them.”

“You always put them first! You don’t care about me at all!” tears filled her eyes.

“C’mon babes, it’s really not that big a deal. I’ll go out, have a few drinks, then I’ll be home, probably before you’ve finished the soaps.”

“Yeah, sure! That’s what you say now, but what happens when you’ve got a couple of pints down you and your boysask you to have just one more?!”

“It won’t happen… trust me.” She snorted.

“Trust you? What about all the other times you’ve said you’ll be back?”

“Oh, what?! The ONE time I decide to stay out when you were supposed to be working anyway?”

--

--

Li

Level 38|Wales|Writer|Artist|Crafter|Chronic Health Warrior|Fibromyalgia|DID|CPTSD|&